Future President Donald Trump

So. This is a surprise.

Not because I didn’t think Trump would have a good turn out, but because I thought that Clinton voters would come out in droves far more than they did. Blame it on the mainstream media telling everyone that Clinton was going to win by a landslide, I guess.

I actually don’t have that much to say about this. As I said in my previous post, I didn’t vote for Trump. Even though I liked the notion that a Trump presidency would cause an upheaval of our current political system, I would much rather have a candidate that causes that aforementioned upheaval on purpose and not just as a byproduct of being unpredictably abrasive and more than a bit doltish. That being said, I also didn’t vote for Clinton. Her smug entitlement to the presidency that essentially boiled down to “yeah, I’m shady, but you’ll vote for me anyway you fucking idiots” did not appeal to me in the slightest. And her lady-boner for perpetuating cold war with yet another country really sealed the deal as far as me not liking her goes.

Am I happy that Trump won? Not really. I don’t think he’s going to be overburdened with competence once he gets into office. I think he, at best, won’t accomplish much, or, at worst, will make things slightly worse. Even so, I am actually very happy about how the Trump win signifies America finally giving a middle finger to the bias of mainstream media that did everything in its power to back a single candidate. I am also definitely very intrigued to see how things play out from here and will reserve any harsher judgments for a later date. If he gets some competent advisers, I honestly don’t think it will be that bad. We’ll see. That’s what I think, I guess. We’ll see.

With all that said, the reaction to this has been a fucking doozy. People are talking in fighting/war metaphors. They’re weeping in the streets. They’re preparing for the end of the fucking world. And all of this after Hillary herself was actually a rather graceful loser, which I do have to commend her for since it would have been extremely easy for her to be a sore loser and get nothing but support for it. People on the left are freaking out. And a lot of my fellow anti-SJWs have been quick to mock them for it, which is understandable because they are being extremely hyperbolic. But let’s practice a little empathy here, guys. You know, the thing we accuse SJWs of not having? That thing.

I know people who are legitimately afraid that this means their rights are going to be taken away and they’re going to be reduced to second-class citizens. I know international students who are considering going back to their countries even though they thought they’d stay in the US forever over this election. This is not a time for gloating and smug smiling and mocking them for feeling threatened. This is a time to try to explain why this isn’t the end of the world like they so fervently and genuinely think that it is.

The first step is to explain how calling Trump and those who voted for him bigots isn’t going to work as a tactic anymore, and the rest will grow from that. Will they all listen to your reasoning? No. But some of them will. Some of them actually are trying to figure out where they and the Democrats went wrong, and being a smug jackoff isn’t going to help that process along. So actually try to be helpful, okay?

Leave a Reply

