Taking Buzzfeed’s “How Much of a Feminist Are You?” Quiz

  1. Take Buzzfeed quiz about social issues Buzzfeed’s format is far too simplified to do well even if the base ideas behind said quiz made sense, which they typically do not.
  2. Rake in the clickbait views garnered by responding to Buzzfeed-brand low hanging fruit.
  3. Profit?

 

Let’s do this! You can take it here, folks! I’d also like to point out that the original name for this quiz, according to the URL, is “How Much of an Asshole Are You?” I know they were trying to say that not checking off enough feminist boxes here makes you a bad person, but I like to take the opposite view and think that Buzzfeed is finally admitting that being overly concerned with feminist theory makes you a pretentious douche.

* * *

1.) I would be willing to give up some of my salary if I had to, so that equal pay in my workplace could be a reality.

That’s not how salaries work, so no, I would not be willing to do that. Salaries are determined by the bottom line made by the company you work for, with potential for bonuses at the end of the work year if there is surplus. Bob in accounting does not get $1000 added to his salary by his boss taking that money away from Tom in finance. That is not how it works. And if that was how it worked, that would make salaried wages even more unfair than they already are in many cases.

I know you’re talking about the wage gap here, and this also isn’t how the wage gap works. Salaries are either set outright, in which case there is no gender discrepancy, or they are negotiable upon hiring. Women, on average, tend to sacrifice a higher salary for more flexible work time. I don’t know what feminists want done about this. I suppose you could do what Reddit did and ban any and all salary negotiations because men were taking advantage of it and women weren’t, and that’s not fair *sad face.*

But let’s actually look at this: Women sacrifice a higher salary for other perks. Okay. Is that a bad thing? Why is getting the most money in the end of the year a sign of who got the better deal? Isn’t putting an over-emphasis on earnings a toxic byproduct of our materialistic, capitalist society? Are women making the objectively wrong choice by caring less about money? I suppose you can talk about cultural factors behind why women don’t barter for higher salaries because that is something that you have deemed to be a negative, but at what point does that turn into infantalizing condescension where you know their real reasons for why a higher salary isn’t at the top of their list of priorities? Even giving you all of that, I still don’t know what you want done seeing as how this is a “problem” caused specifically by women’s actions and it is in the hands of women to do something about it, something that does not fit within the current third-wave feminist model of making the world change to suit us better.

And all of that is working under the pretense that that is how salaries work, which it isn’t. Jill asking for a raise at the end of the year doesn’t entail that Bob’s salary will be cut. And if it did, that raise probably wouldn’t work out because cutting someone else’s salary because someone waited a few years to decide they wanted more money instead of saying that in the very beginning isn’t fair to that first person. So no, Buzzfeed.

2.) I believe that men and women should be equal.

Yes. This is very manipulative, though. This is (supposedly) a core idea of feminism, but having a generalized idea as part of a movement’s foundation doesn’t mean that the movement now owns that generalized idea. This would be like me saying, “Do you not like physical violence? Great. That means you’re a Buddhist. Welcome to Buddhism, person who obviously holds all these others beliefs associated with Buddhism because you agree with one of them!”

3.) I can’t help but be bothered when a song includes misogynistic lyrics, even when I otherwise like the song.

I don’t know. Sometimes? The You remind me of my Jeep. I wanna ride it.song is almost hilariously skeevy seeing as how I make the “rappers/bros can’t tell women and cars apart” joke as a fucking joke that was supposed to be an exaggeration. And that one Lil’ Wayne song about how he only likes bitches when they act as blowjob machines and don’t try to associate with him in any way afterwards because he doesn’t talk to hoes is pretty bad (and also musically awful, so there’s no reason to listen to it). That being said, it has to be very egregious for me to care about something like this and be actively bothered by it, and that is hardly the case. Seeing as how Buzzfeed’s idea of “misogynistic lyrics” would probably include every song on the face of the planet that mentioned a woman in a sexual context, I’m going to say no.

4.) I know who Bell Hooks is.

I do. She be cray.

5.) I can define intersectional feminism.

Intersectional feminists can’t provide a concrete and consistent definition on “intersectional feminism,” how do you expect me to? I’m going to say yes because I have a general idea of it: multiple elements of a women’s identity (sexuality, race, etc.) that also contribute to their hardships and privileges and how they affect and interact with the “reality of womanhood.”

6.) I don’t use the phrase “hey guys” when referring to a group of people that includes men and women.

I do. Is this really a feminist issue? Isn’t living in the first world amazing, guys?

7.) I have taken a women’s and/or gender studies class.

I have. It was interesting.

8.) I think it’s important to encourage girls to pursue science and math as a career.

I think it’s important to encourage girls to pursue the careers they want (I know, it’s a novel concept), and if that is science or math, more power to them. So . . . no, I guess.

9.) Women should be allowed to apply for a job if they fulfill 60% of the job requirements.

Um . . . isn’t the whole point of “requirements” that they are required? If you only needed most of them they wouldn’t be requirements, they’d be suggestions.  So no, no one should be applying for jobs that they patently aren’t qualified enough for, gender being a non-issue.

10.) I think we should change women’s bathroom symbols to not include traditionally “feminine” clothing (skirts, dresses, etc).

Living in the first world is goddamn amazing. Have I said that already? I’m legitimately interested as to what their suggestions for an alternative are if you’re not allowed to use tertiary gender signifiers on the sign. The whole point is that they are easily distinguishable from each other and it is clear which one is which, and gender signifiers are how you do that. You can’t use colors, you can’t use unfamiliar symbols, you can’t use exclusively words. What would you do? “Oh, the women’s restroom has a sign with a stick person with a hole in its chest. That’s different!”  My answer is no, if that wasn’t immediately obvious.

11.) I believe trans people should be able to use whichever bathroom they identify with.

Why is this an argument people are still having? It was legal to use whatever bathroom you wanted anyway. The signs were just there for some simple organization. If you really have to go to the bathroom and you can’t make it the extra ten feet down the hallway to the men’s restroom, you aren’t going to be fucking arrested for using the women’s restroom. This was never an issue. Also, bathrooms for anyone to use are already a thing that exist, and the arguments on both sides of the aisle on this issue pretty much boil down to “men are rapists and I don’t want to be around them,” which is sexist garbage. This is such a non-problem that calling it a first world problem would be too generous. Yes. Do what you want. Why is this a conversation we are having?

12.) I believe it’s important to encourage women to negotiate.

Sure, why not?

13.) I believe Jennifer Lawrence should earn as much as her male costars.

Sorry to tell you, J-Law, but if you made as much as your male costars, you’d probably be getting ripped off. You’re worth more than them by now, honey. You are a big name star. If you think Josh Hutcherson got paid the same amount as you on The Hunger Games films, you are kidding yourself. So do you want to take a pay cut to match your earnings to his? That’s only fair, after all.

No, I don’t think this, because that’s not how paying actors works.

14.) I do not think a movie should be released unless it passes the Bechdel test.

The Bechdel test is incredibly flawed to the point where undeniably “feminist” movies wouldn’t even pass it. If you think it is in any way a good rubric for testing a film’s quality (on the feminist scale or otherwise), you are delusional. In the Company of Men is all about how misogyny is awful, and it doesn’t pass the test. The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, a series with a “strong female character” that is also all about how misogyny sucks would not pass this test. This test doesn’t fucking work, so no. Also, this is censorship. If you think this, you are a fascist.

15.) I believe both genders are entitled to the same social and political rights.

Yes.

16.) I can explain why “78 cents to the dollar” is not a fully accurate description of the gender wage gap.

How does this make you more of a feminist? The only people I’ve heard criticisms of that idea from have been anti-feminists. The fact that you apparently know it’s more complicated than that would indicate that you are being willfully ignorant at this point. Just, what? Also, yes, I can explain it.

17.) I believe that women who possess certain types of privilege are responsible for advocating for women who don’t have their level of privilege.

No, they aren’t “responsible” for shit. If they want to be an activist in that regard, more power to them, but they are in no way obligated to do that. What is with social justice and its boner for making everyone feel like they need to bear the cross of every injustice that they see? This is mentally and emotionally unhealthy, people.

18.) If I had a daughter, I would encourage her to be anything she wanted to be.

Yep. Follow your dreams, honey. Unless you want to be an pilot. We both know your eyesight isn’t good enough for that.

19.) I would make it clear to my daughter from an early age that her identity should never be defined by her relationship status.

Good luck getting a teenage girl to actually take this to heart. I would try to get the idea across, though. It’s a pretty good idea to teach. Builds self-reliance and whatnot.

20.) I believe it’s important to compliment a woman’s intelligence over her looks.

What if she’s not intelligent? Then that would just be a lie. Compliment women on things about them that are worthy of complimenting. If it’s their looks, go right ahead. If it’s something else, go right ahead.

21.) I believe that a woman has the right to choose what happens to her body.

Yep. Though I also think that the current abortion talk is incredibly one-sided and doesn’t address the father’s rights in any significant way. I may be on your side here, but your “my body, my choice” slogan is not good, in my opinion.

22.) In an instance of sexual assault against a female, I am inclined to believe the assaulted person is telling the truth until proven otherwise.

No. I’m inclined to remain impartial until more information is available because “listen and believe” is a bullshit idea that acts like inciting people to just assume that someone is a rapist without knowing more about the situation isn’t a bad idea when it clearly is.

23.) I can explain Marlene Dietrich’s influence on women’s fashion.

Who the fuck is this? Also, on an off note, you know when your movement is disjointed as fuck when someone on the outside can’t be sure if a feminist fashion icon made women’s fashion sluttier or more conservative.

24.) I know what a “Bad Feminist” is.

Yeah, it’s a shitty book written like a Live Journal blog that unintentionally paints feminism as a religion with sins and a process of thought purification.

25.) I believe that women should be able to dress however they want without it dictating how they are treated by society.

Sure. But what about types of clothing that were explicitly made to signal how a woman wants to be treated by society like a hijab or those clear heels that seem available exclusively to hookers? Can we treat them differently if they wear those?

26.) I have never said that a woman “asked for it.”

Nope.

27.) I am offended by catcalling.

All aboard the first world train! It has modern amenities and situations of mild discomfort occasionally!

My answer is no. Some of the more overtly sexual catcalls actually would fall under harassment, but Buzzfeed’s version of catcalling includes guys saying perfectly normal things like “good morning” and “have a good day,” which is ridiculous.

28.) I don’t think women should get VIP treatment at nightclubs and bars, just for being women.

Yep, ladies’ night is stupid. Also a trick to make more money.

29.) I think police brutality and its correlation with race is a feminist issue.

What? Women are almost non-existent on the list of people unlawfully targeted and killed by the police. I don’t even know what you would be referring to here. What is the feminist issue? Are you referring to single parenthood in black communities that disproportionately affects young women and stunts their future prospects while simultaneously contributing to higher rates of crime and police violence? I don’t think you are since you’re apparently all for “nontraditional” family structures. I don’t even fucking agree with Black Lives Matter, but stop co-opting their issue, feminists. Not everything has to be about you.

30.) I think we should stop promoting models as the ideal female body type.

I do, actually. Models are paid to be attractive, and good for them. What is popular in the fashion world tends to wildly fluctuate, and far too much pressure is put on models to look a certain way, from both sides of the argument, because we’ve rather needlessly made them the gatekeepers of what should be seen as attractive when they’re ultimately just individuals who look nice. Did you hear about the plus-sized model who got harassed for losing weight? Our obsession with how models look and obsession with making them important to how we view ourselves is stupid, is what I’m saying.

31.) I think we should stop photoshopping women’s bodies in the media.

I’m fine with this. Photoshop artists need work too, man. As long as it’s made clear that it is indeed an edited picture, I don’t see the issue.

32.) I have never called a woman bossy.

I have, and feminism’s apparent goal of becoming the Language Police is creepy.

33.) I think companies should offer more child-friendly time and programs to women who are having children.

Sure. I don’t think they should be required to like many people are trying to enforce, but I think it is better if they do and have nothing against providing incentives for them to.

34.) I believe that a woman should be offered the same opportunities for promotion as her male co-workers.

Sure. Maybe not if she’s having a baby, though. Call me sexist all you want, but kids are hard to take care of and if you’re going to have an important company leadership position, that is typically something you have to make your number one priority. And unless you want to neglect your child, that is not something you should do. I’m not saying they shouldn’t be allowed the promotion. All I’m saying is that, if they want to put themselves in the running for a promotion and wind up being promoted, they are in no position to then complain about how they don’t have enough time to spend with their kid afterwards.

35.) I believe that if a woman wants to pay on a date, her date should let her.

Sure.

36.) I believe that women should have easy access to birth control.

Yes. This world is overcrowded, and poor women are having too many kids that they then cannot take care of. It’s bad for everyone and winds up costing far more private and government dollars in the end of the day than it would be to just give them a cheaper fucking prescription.

37.) I believe that in a relationship the domestic duties should be shared.

I don’t think they should be. If that is how your relationship works, great. But different kinds of relationships work for different couples, and it is up to those individual couples to decide what kind of balance they want. There is no should like this is a universal thing. My grandmother would die before she let my grandfather do the housework. That is just the mutual agreement they came to. In my relationship, it’s more of an equal split because that is the mutual agreement we came to.

38.) I think that a couple should have equal responsibility over the aesthetic and cleanliness of their home.

See above.

39.) I believe that men should be encouraged to be involved and make choices in the wedding planning process.

Sure? Is this a controversy? Do I just not know about it?

40.) I believe that men and women have the same emotional strength.

It depends. This is a really overgeneralized question, but sure, I guess.

41.) I do not think that it is the responsibility of a man to protect a woman physically.

It is not.

42.) I believe that men and women should be equally encouraged to express their emotions.

Sure, with the caveat that neither women nor men should wallow in their own feelings to the point of forgoing action, as “expressing emotions” tends to be generalized as.

43.) I have never asked a woman why she does not have children.

I think I have.

44.) I would be equally excited to have a son or a daughter.

I don’t want kids. If I have kids, I’d rather have a boy, though. No real reason, I just feel like I’d like that more.

45.) I think American workplace culture is often not structured in a way that is helpful or encouraging to women succeeding.

This isn’t fucking Asia, firstly. Also, I don’t think the American workplace culture is structured very well for anyone to succeed in it. America has a very workaholic nature, and my version of “success” includes not being a fucking mess who never relaxes and who prioritizes earnings over personal and social health, as is often what “success” is viewed as. This is also an insulting notion as it implies that women are only capable of succeeding in environments explicitly tailored to ensure that they do so. Women are not children, stop treating us like we need training wheels in order to get anything accomplished.

46.) I think women have a responsibility to help and encourage other women to pursue their goals.

Not really. I feel no kinship with you because we share similar biological characteristics. Try again.

47.) I think women are equally capable to men to be the President of the United States.

Yep. Equally capable at being a shitty option. Equality?

48.) I believe that women have no responsibility to make a conscious effort to always be friendly and polite.

I guess not. That’s the nice thing to do. It’s part of the social contract that everyone, men included, is implicitly asked to follow, but you don’t have to be a pleasant human being if your really don’t want to.

49.) I have never criticized a woman for not wearing makeup or wearing too much makeup.

Nah, I do this. If you look like shit, you look like shit. I can be a bitch sometimes. What of it?

50.) I believe a woman is a woman if that is what she calls herself, regardless of her physical attributes and makeup.

This is a weirdly worded sentence. Is this about trans people? You’re making it sound like people are rejecting claims of womanhood because a woman is more square-jawed than usual and doesn’t wear mascara. If you’re asking about transgender people, ask about transgender people. And, yes, I try to respect this. Though I do go to liberal arts college, and the number of actual trans people seems to be dwarfed by the number of people who are just reveling in the fact that they’re out of mom and dad’s house and can do what they want so they dye their hair green, wear ties with skirts, say they’re gender-fluid, and call it a day. My respect for trans people is tested by special snowflakes trying to discover themselves, is what I’m saying.
* * *
That’s all the questions, so let’s see how much of a feminist I am, shall we?

How Much Of A Feminist Are You?

You checked off 27 out of 50 on this list! You’re super in-tune with what’s going on in the world–especially when it comes to feminist issues. Keep doing you and stay woke.
Wooooo! Past the half-way point, bitches!
This quiz is stupid. Being “super in-tune with feminist issues” doesn’t make someone a feminist by default. They could just be someone who is aware of things. Where were all the questions that actually pertained to academic feminist theories that you essentially have to believe in if you give yourself the feminist label? That would have actually been far more accurate than asking about random notions and preferences that are apparently inherently feminist in nature, once again showing the movement’s tendency to co-opt basic concepts.
Where were questions like “Do you believe in patriarchy theory?” or “Do you believe in rape culture?” or “Do you believe in toxic masculinity?” These are specific things that pertain specifically to feminism. Me thinking that men should be allowed to express emotions does not mean that you can go ahead and check off the “believes in toxic masculinity” box, Buzzfeed. I do not. Your theories do not have utter dominion over entire concepts. You have to ask specific questions. Also, I’m not a feminist, and I did fairly well on this quiz. So, can you swallow your pride and write a post about how maybe, just maybe, people who aren’t feminists might not be awful woman-haters who disagree with you on everything and are stupid? No? Of course.
Who makes these, and why do they continue to have employment?
4 thoughts on “Taking Buzzfeed’s “How Much of a Feminist Are You?” Quiz

  1. You really provided an interesting perspective on this. I hope you don’t mind, I blogged about it too, and linked to you. You did far better than I did, 27 out of 50. I managed 4.

    It’s kind of interesting, you and I differed on # 46, “I think women have a responsibility to help and encourage other women to pursue their goals.” I do believe that as well as women DO have “a responsibility to make a conscious effort to always be friendly and polite.” I noted that these were “responsibilities,” not mandates, not should’s. It fascinates me that in our quests for so called equality, responsibility is often edited out of the equation. So do men have a responsibility to encourage other men? To be friendly and polite? Yes! Why shouldn’t women embrace that responsibility too?

  2. I agreed with 4, 5,7, and 24.

    Number 15 that says, “I believe both genders are entitled to the same social and political rights,” was a close one too, except I kind of prefer the old fashioned notion of granting pregnant women,elderly women, women in charge of small children some extra rights. Social rights, I suppose. We give up our seats on the bus for them, we hold the doors open, so there are some special accommodations made for women, especially when it comes to basic good manners. It’s not fair and equal towards men, but it seems to be common sense to me. Other than that, I kind of believe in social and political rights for women, I certainly don’t want us treated unjustly, but like all the other questions nothing is quite as simple as they like to imply.

    This was another close one, “I do not think that it is the responsibility of a man to protect a woman physically.” I almost agreed with this one too, except if I ever get mugged and there are a bunch of men standing around going “meh, not my problem,” I think I’d be ticked off. We all have some responsibility to protect one another, I think.

Leave a Reply

